Settling In

Aside from falling through a desk in the middle of class and having the students cheer when class was canceled because blood was seeping through my dress from cuts I got from the desk, my confidence and ability to teach has improved exponentially since my last post! Giving almost everyone detention the first day of class really helped. Since I am the youngest teacher at my school and brand new I don’t think a lot of the kids took me seriously, but I’m working on changing that. Many foreign teachers feel bad for the children since they are going to school for 12 hours a day and let them socialize in class or get off easy when they forget their homework, but their parents are paying for them to be there so I feel like since they are already stuck in a classroom, why not actually learn something? I’m getting paid to be a teacher not a babysitter.

I moved out of my shoebox apartment into a slightly larger and older shoebox and for the first time since I’ve been in Korea I wake up feeling like I’m HOME and not just hiding out in someones closet. After almost two months here it is a relief to finally begin to get settled.

Bigger update with pictures included coming up as soon as I have my med school application submitted and sent off! If all goes well with that, I’ll be back in the U.S. in a few months for interviews 🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tonya
    Aug 21, 2012 @ 19:51:52

    Again, I love when you post. Loving reading your thoughts. You’re a strong women who is doing enormous things with your life. I applaud you, Angela. Looking forward to the rest of your story. I love you. Prayers always.

    Reply

  2. Jody
    Aug 22, 2012 @ 00:04:17

    Thanks for the update, I love reading about your adventure, Love, Aunt Jody

    Reply

Leave a comment